The 411 on 401 Graffiti

Graffiti has always played a huge part in my life. It covered downtown bridges, alley way walls, we even had to learn graffiti techniques in grade school in art class. I’d cherish the opportunity to look out the windows of the subway car every time I was between Dundas West Station and Keele Station, as the graffiti on the back of buildings is beautiful to look at. When I made the vlog below, there was no question that I’d talk about graffiti and its evolution in hip hop, and outside of it. If you’re interesting in learning more about graffiti after my vlog, check out the documentary Style Wars, which is about New York Subway Graffiti. I’ve also included it below. Enjoy!

10 thoughts on “The 411 on 401 Graffiti

  1. Wow, what a great video blog Bhumika! The graffiti you showed was so neat (I particularly liked the dog!) and your topic was really interesting. I love the questions you pose, especially the one at the end. I personally believe that graffiti and rap are both forms of art, and I think many people will agree after watching your video! 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks Anja! I think that was supposed to be a coyote or wolf- the artist was done in Indigenous styles and both those animals are important to the culture. I loved the way they colours were blended, and I’m glad you feel the same! It’s hard not to when graffiti is just so beautiful!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Amanda, thanks for all the love! I found it when I took a bike ride down the Humber path, and was super excied to see it the first time. There are so many great places to look at graffiti in Toronto, and I think it makes our city just a bit more beautiful 🙂

      Like

  2. It’s funny because when I forst saw your video, I was just at Graffiti Alley for the first time and I loved it there. I had no idea that art like this is under the 401! I would have to check it out because I’m a big fan of streetart. Awesone video Bhumika!

    Like

    1. There’s so much cool graffiti around our city and I love checking it out! I would totally reccommend that you grab a bike, and go out on a ride along the Humber path!

      Like

  3. Your video was very well done! I personally love graffiti and think its brings to much life, colour and personality to a city. I would argue that most graffiti is more artistic than lots of paintings or other forms of art that show up in art galleries.

    Like

    1. I agree Zoe, but I feel like that is a personal choice for both of us. People look at art in a lot of ways these days, and it involves copious amounts of creativity that I know I can’t even begin to understand. I love the colours, and fonts used in Graffiti though, and it’s interesting to be bombarding with graffiti pieces when you least expect it.

      Like

    1. I know what you mean! Sometimes graffiti artists write or paint over other works of art- I can’t say I’m a huge fan of that. But a major part of graffiti is leaving your mark- which is why they may tag in places that you or I see as inappropriate. It’s about making sure people see your art, even if they don’t see you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

